

Iowa FFA Association

The FFA Mission

FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier** leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education.

FFA Enrichment Center 1055 SW Prairie Trail Parkway Ankeny, IA 50023

Contact: Scott Johnson (712.790.2345)

www.iowaffa.com

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

2013 IOWA FFA EXPERIENCE THE ACTION CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

85th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

The Iowa FFA Experience the Action Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 22, 2013. Twelve chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event. The first place chapter for the event was the Audubon FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Brittany Elmquist. The second place chapter for the event was the Wapsie Valley FFA Chapter at Fairbank. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. Ellen Doese.

Team members developed enthusiastic presentations that marketed Agricultural Education and FFA. This program serves to inform and educate the general public regarding the benefits and activities of Ag Ed/FFA programs. MinnTex Citrus – Iowa, through the Iowa FFA Foundation, sponsored this year's event.

The Iowa FFA Association has 216 local chapters with 13,403 FFA members. FFA is a national organization of more than 550,000 members preparing for leadership and careers in science, business and technology of agriculture. Local, state and national programs provide opportunities for students to apply knowledge and skills learned in the classroom. FFA's mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier leadership**, **personal growth and career success** through agricultural education.

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

Listed below are the results for the Experience the Action Leadership Event.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Logan Bauer, Brad Kerkoff, Lauren Graeve, Kasey Porsch, Tiffany Wittrock, and Jacob Petersen	Audubon	Gold
2	Danielle Gordon, Cody Kleitsch, Adam Joerger, Garett Hagenow, Sydney Cindrich, and Lauren Ambrosy	Fairbank	Silver
3	Noah Swaney, Madison Dettmer, Kayla Dietz, Jaymes Goodsell, and Taylor Erwin	Nashua	Silver
	Mandie Gassman, Gabriella Buban, Brooke Duckworth, Katelyn Campbell, Sarah Kelly, and Chey Homann	Corydon	Silver
	Halee Means, Kolton Werner, Stephanie Patterson, Kayla Wyma, Jared Tokle, and Jacob Shepard	Grinnell	Silver
	Makenzie Wolter, Beck Greene, Rene' Miranda, Dalton Petersen, Kallie Kleve, and Jillian Bosma	Sibley	Silver
	Hanna Adams, Andrew Mcevoy, Nic Peiffer, and Ben Wolff	Troy Mills	Silver
	Dylan Schrock, Austin Slabaugh, Alana Mullet, Kylie Hogue, and Cody Knepp	Wellman	Silver
	Robert Dearden, Kala Wisecup, and Haley Searcy	Boone	Bronze
	Katie Graeve, Camren Jones, Evan Schroeder, Kjersten Baratta, Whitney Redler, and Brooke Croghan	Harlan	Bronze
	Chris Carlyle, Hector Echevarria, Katie Riedell, and Aubrey Houska	Lake View	Bronze
	Abby Eberhardt, Heidi Hillyard, Darby Massner, Andrea Larson, Susan Strawhacker, and Daphne Pulford	Mediapolis	Bronze